Install Theme

NCS Announces This Year’s Reuben Award Nominees

The National Cartoonists Society has announced the finalists for this year’s Reuben Award, given to the Outstanding Cartoonist Of The Year.

They are Rick Kirkman, of Baby Blues; Stephan Pastis of Pearls Before Swine and Brian Crane of Pickles.

You can read full bios through that initial link. My first impression is that Pastis is the kind of strong-selling, well-regarded cartoonist in his early prime that gets this award a lot — I’m usually super-wrong, though.

The Reuben is along with the Pulitzer in Editorial Cartooning the most prestigious award that regularly goes to a cartoonist, and one of the traditional great comics awards. If it’s not in the first line of a cartoonist’s obituary, it’s in the second.

This award and various category awards are given out in late May at a black-tie event held during the NCS annual meeting.

  1. henmanblog reblogged this from comicsreporter
  2. comicsreporter posted this